Cheryl M. Scott, Ph.D., Chair, Honors and Awards Committee

Oklahoma State University

John Ferraro, Ph.D.

University of Kansas Medical Center

John Saxman, Ph.D.

Columbia University, Teachers College

Award of Appreciation

The Councilís Award of Appreciation is presented to individuals in recognition of significant contributions to the Council or to the discipline and professions it serves.

Tonightís first recipient has truly done it all in an academic program. Our honoree is a full professor, clinical supervisor, advisor, dissertation director, researcher, principal investigator, and chair. The only difference between this individual and most of us is that all of these roles are concurrent; indeed, since becoming chair of a communication sciences and disorders program exactly 10 years ago, she has published 40 articles in the areas of acoustic, speech, and voice science.

A magna cum laude graduate of Ithaca College, she drifted slightly south and west, stopping in the Buckeye state where she earned the Ph.D. in Speech Pathology and Audiology at Ohio University in 1983. In 1989, she assumed chair duties at another Ohio university, a position she claims to still enjoy, and she credits that to her faculty and the support they give her.

We began to see her at Council meetings in 1989, and within four years, she received a committee assignment to the Information Exchange Committee. She did such a good job that she was asked to be Chair in 1996, a post she still holds. Our recipient has elevated the Council survey to a new professional plane by consulting with survey analysis professionals, and as a result we have a truly valuable resource. She is currently piloting a completely new survey on academic program salaries in communication sciences and disorders. .

I had the pleasure of serving on the Councilís Executive Board for two years with her and came to know a careful listener Ė someone who can sift through the rhetoric, see the key pieces of the puzzle, and craft a solution that others miss.

For her many significant contributions to the Council of Academic Programs, we are pleased to present the Award of Appreciation to Dr. Linda Petrosino of Bowling Green University.

Award of Appreciation

In establishing the awards of the Council, some very wise people recognized the importance of honoring not only the Councilís leaders, but also those individuals who make outstanding contributions to our discipline, and in this way "showcase" communication sciences and disorders to an even broader audience of academics, practitioners, and public. It is in that spirit that we present the Award of Appreciation to Dr. Audrey L. Holland.

Audrey Hollandís potential was evident early on when she was elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa in her undergraduate days at the University of Pittsburgh. Following the BS in Psychology, she was awarded the MS and Ph.D degrees in Speech Pathology by the University of Pittsburgh. Her first academic appointment was at Emerson College, but she returned to Pittsburgh in 1968. In 1991 Dr. Holland left Pittsburgh to assume chair duties in the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences at the University of Arizona. Today Audrey is a full time teacher and researcher.

Council members know Audrey as an aphasiologist. On this topic and also in the areas of dementia, and traumatic brain injury of children and adults, she has published more than 100 articles, chapters, and books. Her research has been continually funded by the National Institutes of Health. She has directed 32 doctoral dissertations, and served on 50 more doctoral and masterís committees. She has served ASHA well as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Speech and Hearing Research and as Chair of the 1987 convention. She was presented with Honors of the American Speech Language Hearing Association in 1990.

For purposes of this award, Audrey's impact beyond the discipline and beyond this country are highlighted. At the University of Pittsburgh, Audrey held joint appointments in Psychiatry and Otolaryngology and regularly lectured to resident physicians. She has been invited to talk in France, Italy, The Netherlands, Belgium, South Africa, and many other countries, frequently delivering the keynote address. She has been a member of the advisory board for the National Institute of Deafness and Other Communication Disorders. And, most recently, in 1998, Audrey was named as a Regents Professor at the University of Arizona. She was one of two faculty at the University to receive that honor.

As many of us know, Audrey has not been a hand-off researcher. Indeed, she is one of the best examples we have of the melding of research and practice. Some of the best times of her career have been those when her research brought her into direct contact with patients.

During her years as chair at Arizona, Audrey frequently attended Council meetings. With this award, we thank her for that input, as well as for almost four decades of a stellar academic career in teaching, research, clinical practice, and administration.

Audrey is not here tonight because she had a long-standing prior commitment as an invited speaker. She asked me to convey her great surprise and sincere thanks. To receive this award on Audreyís behalf is her colleague and friend from the University of Pittsburgh, Dr. Malcolm McNeill.

Award for Distinguished Contributions

Another type of recognition provided by the Council is the Award for Distinguished Contributions. This award recognizes significant and sustained contributions that have enhanced the Council's ability to serve its membership.

Our next honoree has been in our field for over 30 years. He received his education in some our finest programs, including the University of Colorado in Boulder, Washington University in St. Louis, and the University of Wisconsin in Madison. Likewise, he has held faculty positions in such notable institutions as the University of Iowa, the University of California at Santa Barbara, and the Memphis State University Ė before it became the University of Memphis. One of his current titles, and, aside from "Dad" the one of which he is probably most proud, is Founding Dean of the School of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Memphis. His (now that Iíve pretty much let the cat out of the bag) areas of research and contributions to the literature range from pioneering work in auditory evoked potentials Ė he and his colleague Robert Goldstein were among the first clinical scientists to describe what we now refer to as the Middle-Latency AEPs Ė to successful recruiting strategies for graduate students.

As all of you are aware, his service to the profession, and to the Council in particular, has been, and continues to be, exemplary. He has served on our Publications Committee, the Honors and Awards Committee, the Ad Hoc Committee for Self-improvement of Graduate Educational Programs, and he Chaired the Working Group on the Professional Doctorate. In 1995, he was elected President-elect of the Council, and he served as our President in 1996. When his term on the Executive Board expired in 1997, he assumed the role of our Webmaster and resident photographer, and has been instrumental in the development and refinement of the Council's webpage. I suppose the only challenge he has faced in which he has not been successful is one of a "follicular" nature.

It is my great honor to present the Councilís Award for Distinguished Contributions to Dr. Maurice I. Mendel.