The Council has a long history of supporting student education via scholarships. These awards have targeted both prospective professionals and academics in audiology, speech-language pathology and hearing/speech/language science.

2014 CAPCSD Conference Scholarship Announcements

Plural Research Scholarship

Meg SimioneMeg Simione
MGH Institute of Health Professions

Jordan R. Green, Ph.D, CCC-SLP, Faculty Advisor
"A Multi-level Assessment of Mastication for Children with Cerebral Palsy"

Doreen HansmannDoreen Hansmann
University of Canterbury/New Zealand

Professor Stephanie Stokes & Dr. William Gavin
"Influence of phonological neighborhood density on word production in 7-year-old children"

Frances Laven Scholarship

Jessica BrownJessica Brown
The University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Karen Hux, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

CAPCSD Leadership Scholarships


Christina Bronson-LoweChristina Bronson-Lowe
The University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Torrey M. J. Loucks

Molly Krygowski Molly Krygowski
The Ohio State University

Dr. Julie Hazelbaker

Lauren CycykLauren Cycyk
Temple University

Dr. Carol Scheffner Hammer

Lauren RobertsLauren Roberts
The University of Utah

Susan Naidu

CAPCSD Leadership Scholarships


Samantha Bevington Samantha Bevington
Rush University

Dr. Kempster

Sarah WalkerSarah Walker
Central Michigan University

Dr. Mark E. Lehman, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Hailey MalmHailey Malm
Eastern Washington University

Elizabeth Wilson-Fowler, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

2013 CAPCSD Conference Scholarship Announcements

Plural Research Scholarship

Doctoral Winner

Suzanne N. KingSuzanne N. King
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Susan L. Thibeault, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, Faculty Advisor
"Characterization of immune cells in vocal fold scarring"

Master's Winner

Whitney HolmanWhitney Holman
St. Cloud State University

Dr. Sarah Smits-Bandstra, Faculty Advisor4
"Neurological Speech Planning Processes in Parkinson's Disease"

CAPCSD Leadership Scholarship


Eduardo EuropaEduardo Europa
Northwestern University

Cynthia K. Thompson

Kristine SonstromKristine Sonstrom

University of Cincinnati

Dr. Peter M. Scheifele

Rene UtianskiRene Utianski

Arizona State University

Dr. Julie Liss



Noelle BoettcherNoelle Boettcher

University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

Dr. Heuer

Amanda ThalhammerAmanda Thalhammer

Miami University

Susan Brehm

Chelsea FranzluebbersChelsea Franzluebbers

University of Kansas

Dr. Hugh Catts