

Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Friday, February 21, 2025

CAPCSD Board of Directors Present: Katie Strong (President); Tricia Montgomery (President Elect); Jennifer Simpson (Past President); Christie Needham (Secretary); Ashley Harkrider (Treasurer); Maya Clark (VP of Organizational Advancement); Kevin McNamara (VP of Clinical Education); Shubha Kashinath (VP of Research & Academic Affairs); Erin Lundblom (VP of Online Professional Development)

CAPCSD Board of Directors Absent: Heidi Verticchio (*VP of Professional Development*); Rachel Theodore (*VP of Admissions*)

Staff Present: Ned Campbell (*Executive Director*); Mandie McKenzie (*Director of Professional Development*)

Call to Order Katie Strong, President

Called meeting to order at 10:01 AM EST

Honors and Awards Nominations

Jenn Simpson, Past President

• The Past-President presented the individuals nominated for the honors and awards of the association.

Motion to award the Distinguished Contribution Award to Renee Bogschutz, the Excellence in Diversity Award to Lauren Calandruccio and Jessica Sullivan, the Excellence in Diversity Award to Becca Jarzynski, the Excellence in Diversity Award to Lucia Mendez, and Honors of the Council to Carol Dudding as the CAPCSD 2025 awards.

Motion Carries

Board Appointment Motion for Vice President of Admissions

Katie Strong, President

Motion to appoint Doug Parham to the role of VP of Admissions for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2025, and ending June 30, 2028.

Motion Carries

Board Appointment Motion for VP of Organizational Advancement

Maya Clark, VPOA

• Discussion of candidates for filling the vacancy of VPOA's term beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2027.

Motion to appoint Leslie Grubler to fulfill the VP of Organizational Advancement vacancy beginning July 1, 2025, and ending June 30, 2027.

Motion Carries

Chair of Online Professional Development Committee

Erin Lundblom, VPOPD

VPOPD presented needs for the committee and the role of chair for the OPD Committee

Motion to appoint Jacqueline Towson as chair of the Online Professional Development Committee for a two-year term beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2027.

Motion Carries

Al Task Force Discussion

Tricia Montgomery, President Elect

• Discussion about extension of the Al Task Force until June 30, 2025. This will allow the team to present their findings

Motion to extend the AI Task Force until June 30, 2025.

Approve: 9 Deny: 0 Abstain: 0

Motion Carries

Respectfully Submitted,

Christie Needham, Secretary